Eight opposition parties protest non-payment of GST dues, Congress not invited | India News

NEW DELHI: The leaders of 8 opposition events on Thursday held a protest within the Parliament advanced in opposition to the federal government, tough GST dues. Congress leaders had been absent from the protest.
Addressing a press briefing after the protest, Trinamool Congress (TMC) MP and nationwide spokesperson Derek O’Brien mentioned the most important opposition birthday party used to be no longer invited for the agitation.
Leaders from the TMC, Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Aam Aadmi Birthday party (AAP), Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), Samajwadi Birthday party (SP), Nationalist Congress Birthday party (NCP) and Shiv Sena took section within the protest.
“It’s increasingly more changing into transparent to us that during Parliament, the regional events are discovering it more uncomplicated to coordinate with every different to strategise. The Congress can now not make a decision the topic after which the dosage of opposition technique. They can’t do one thing within the states and search strengthen in Parliament,” O’Brien mentioned.
The protest comes forward of a scheduled debate on Items and Products and services Tax (GST) in Rajya Sabha, that the federal government agreed upon at the insistence of the opposition events in a casual assembly chaired via defence minister Rajnath Singh on Wednesday night.
At a gathering of the GST council on August 27, finance minister Nirmala Sitharaman had stated that states are more likely to face a GST earnings hole of Rs three lakh crore this 12 months, because the economic system would possibly contract because of Covid-19, which she termed an unexpected “act of God”. The states had been requested to borrow to satisfy the shortfall.
When requested as to why the Congress used to be no longer invited for the protest, assets within the regional events mentioned events just like the TRS and AAP weren’t comfy sharing house with the predominant opposition birthday party of the rustic.
At a contemporary assembly of leader ministers organised via Congress president Sonia Gandhi, Delhi CM and AAP convener Arvind Kejriwal and Telangana CM Ok Chandrashekar Rao (of TRS) weren’t invited.
The protest that lasted for round 15 mins noticed leaders like Akhilesh Yadav, Supriya Sule, Manoj Jha, Sanjay Singh amongst others preserving banners and ‘thali’ (plates) to turn what the states had been paid via the Centre as GST dues.